Skip to Content
Report an accessibility problem
Engineering  |  School of Computing, Informatics, and Decision Systems Engineering

Faculty by discipline

All faculty

Gail-Joon Ahn

Gail-Joon Ahn

Gail-Joon Ahn
Professor
Computer Science and Engineering

Research Interests
Vulnerability and risk management, authentication and access control, security architecture for distributed systems, identity management, policy analysis and enforcement, formal models for computer security, and cyber crime analysis

Gail-Joon.Ahn@asu.edu
(480) 965-9007
Tempe campus, BYENG 486
http://sefcom.asu.edu/

Ronald Askin

Ronald Askin

Ronald Askin
Professor
Industrial Engineering

Research Interests
Logistics, manufacturing systems analysis, production planning and scheduling, operations research, applied statistics

Ron.Askin@asu.edu
(480) 965-2567
Tempe campus, BYENG 548

Janaka Balasooriya

Janaka Balasooriya

Janaka Balasooriya
Lecturer
Computer Science and Engineering

Research Interests 
Distributed, internet and grid computing, web service coordination primitives and system architectures, biological data integration and interoperability, middleware and embedded software

Janaka.Balasooriya@asu.edu
(480) 727-8593
Tempe campus, BYENG 578

Ayan Banerjee

Ayan Banerjee
Assistant Research Professor

Research Interests
Power management in high performance data centers, cyber physical systems, medical control systems, data mining, mobile computing

Ayan.Banerjee@asu.edu 
Tempe Campus, BYENG 517

Tyler Baron

Tyler Baron
Lecturer
Computer Science 

Research Interests
Artistic and educational digital game development, game studies, software development methodologies, human computer interactions

 

Tyler.Baron@asu.edu
(480) 727-3713
Tempe campus, BYENG 398

Chris Bryan

Chris Bryan

Chris Bryan
Assistant Professor
Computer Science and Engineering

Information visualization, visual analytics, virtual reality, data storytelling, data analysis, explainable machine learning and artificial intelligence; perception and cognition, human-computer Interaction, data privacy and security

Kevin Burger

Kevin Burger
Lecturer
Computer Science and Engineering

Research Interests
Embedded systems, introductory programming, data structures and algorithms, computer architecture and organization, web development

Burgerk@asu.edu
(480) 965-1493
Tempe campus, BYENG 516

Jorge Caviedes

Jorge Caviedes
Research Professor

Research Interests
Digital image/video processing, computer vision, image and video quality metrics, media interaction and immersive user experience, adaptive processing, intelligent control systems, and wearable sensors for therapeutic exercise.

Jorge.Caviedes@asu.edu
(480) 272-0278
Tempe Campus, BYENG 396

Linda Chattin

Linda Chattin

Linda Chattin
Principal Lecturer
Industrial Engineering

Research Interests
Discrete optimization, stochastic processes and probabilistic modeling, emergency service location

Linda.Chattin@asu.edu
(480) 965-3811
Tempe campus, BYENG 526

Michael Clough

Michael Clough

Michael Clough
Lecturer
Industrial Engineering

Research Interests
Measurement of nano/microscale mechanisms underlying thermofluidic and interfacial phenomena for design of nanoengineered solutions that enhance macroscale performance of a variety of industrial applications including energy systems, thermal desalination, and transportation systems.

Mclough@asu.edu
(480) 965-2804
Tempe campus, BYENG 480

Partha Dasgupta

Partha Dasgupta

Partha Dasgupta
Associate Professor
Computer Science and Engineering

Research Interests
Computer security, operating systems, distributed and parallel systems

Partha@asu.edu
(480) 965-5583
Tempe campus, BYENG 428

Adam Doupe

Adam Doupe

Adam Doupe
Assistant Professor
Computer Science and Engineering

Research Interests
Cyber security, web security, automated vulnerability analysis, mobile app security, static analysis, program analysis, hacking competitions, and pentesting.

Doupe@asu.edu
(480) 727-5471
Tempe campus, BYENG 472
http://sefcom.asu.edu/people.html

Adolfo Escobedo

Adolfo Escobedo

Adolfo Escobedo
Assistant Professor
Industrial Engineering

Research Interests
Theory and application of linear and mixed integer programming; design, analysis, and efficient implementation of optimization algorithms; computational linear algebra; power systems operation and planning; circular economy.  

Adres@asu.edu
(480) 965-5248
Tempe campus, BYENG 346

Georgios Fainekos

Georgios Fainekos

Georgios Fainekos
Associate Professor
Computer Science and Engineering

Research Interests
Cyber-physical systems: hybrid dynamical systems, real-time and embedded systems, formal methods with applications to automation & control: system testing and verification, formal languages and logic, motion planning in robotics, unmanned aerial vehicles (UAV)

Fainekos@asu.edu
(480) 965-8267
Tempe campus, CTRPT 203-17
http://www.public.asu.edu/~gfaineko/

Xuerong Feng

Xuerong Feng

Xuerong Feng
Lecturer
Computer Science and Engineering

Research Interests
Algorithm design and analysis, including network algorithms, Bioinformatics algorithms and parallel algorithms

Xuerong.Feng@asu.edu
(480) 965-2855
Tempe campus, BYENG 512

Stephanie Forrest

Stephanie Forrest

Stephanie Forrest
Professor
Computer Science and Engineering

Research Interests
Theoretical biology, modeling, simulation and cyberinfrastructure, cybersecurity, software development methodologies, evolutionary computation, biological modeling of immunological processes and evolutionary diseases

Steph@asu.edu
(480) 727-0492
Tempe campus, BYENG 394

Kirk Jalbert

Kirk Jalbert
Assistant Professor
Computer Science and Engineering

Research Interests
Human dimensions of science and technology, science and society, activism and social movements, citizen participation, environmental studies, energy policy, informatics, geographic information science

 

Kirk.Jalbert@asu.edu
(480) 965-1756
Tempe campus

Yoshihiro Kobayashi

Yoshihiro Kobayashi

Yoshihiro Kobayashi
Lecturer
Computer Science and Engineering

Research Interests
Game design, game development, digital fabrication, AI in design, virtual reality, building information modeling, procedural modeling, computer graphics, PRISM Lab at ASU

Ykobaya@asu.edu
(480) 965-3708
Tempe campus, BYENG 354

Yann-Hang Lee

Yann-Hang Lee

Yann-Hang Lee
Professor
Computer Science and Engineering

Research Interests
Real-time computing, internet of things (IoT), embedded system and software, fault-tolerant computing, distributed computing, service-oriented computing, performance evaluation

Yhlee@asu.edu
(480) 727-7507
Tempe campus, CTRPT 203-23
http://rts.lab.asu.edu/

Jing Li

Jing Li

Jing Li
Associate Professor, Industrial Engineering
Graduate Program Chair, Industrial Engineering

Research Interests
Statistical learning, data mining, biomedical and health informatics, quality and reliability engineering

Jinglz@asu.edu
(480) 965-0125
Tempe campus, BYENG 310
https://amcii.asu.edu

Ryan Meuth

Ryan Meuth

Ryan Meuth
Lecturer
Computer Science and Engineering

Research Interests
Examining ways to improve engineering education, in particular the first year engineering experience

Rmeuth@asu.edu
(480) 727-6389
Tempe campus, BYENG 438

Katina Michael

Katina Michael
Professor
Computer Science and Engineering

Research Interests
Emerging technologies, innovation, informatics, technology and society, policy and society, ubiquitous computing, digital media, wearable computing, embedded devices, big data, open data, drones, cybersecurity, IoT, robotics, automation

 

Katina.Michael@asu.edu
(480) 965-6316
Tempe campus

Ariane Middel

Ariane Middel
Assistant Professor
Computer Science and Engineering

Research Interests
Urban climate, heat mitigation, thermal comfort, human biometeorology, modeling and simulation, microclimate, local climate, climate-sensitive urban design, climate adaptation and mitigation, urban heat islands, urban climate informatics, geographic information systems, human-environment interaction, land use and land cover, sustainability, geovisualization

Ariane.Middel@asu.edu
(480) 414-6793
Tempe campus

Pitu Mirchandani

Pitu Mirchandani

Pitu Mirchandani
Professor, The Avnet Chair in Supply Chain Networks
Industrial Engineering

Research Interests
Optimization, decision-making under uncertainty, real-time control and logistics, application interests in urban service systems, transportation, and homeland security

Pitu@asu.edu
(480) 965-2758
Tempe campus, BYENG 332
Advanced Transportation and Logistics: Algorithms and Systems (ATLAS) Research Laboratory

Douglas Montgomery

Douglas Montgomery

Douglas Montgomery
Regents’ Professor
Industrial Engineering

Research Interests
Statistical design of experiments, optimization and response surface methodology, empirical stochastic modeling, industrial statistics

Doug.Montgomery@asu.edu
(480) 965-3836
Tempe campus, BYENG 348

Rong Pan

Rong Pan

Rong Pan
Associate Professor, Program Chair
Industrial Engineering

Research Interests
Industrial statistics, reliability analysis and time series modeling

Rong.Pan@asu.edu
(480) 965-4259
Tempe campus, BYENG 352

Sethuraman Panchanathan

Sethuraman Panchanathan

Sethuraman Panchanathan
Professor, ASU Senior Vice President for Knowledge Enterprise Development
Computer Science and Engineering

Research Interests
Human-centered multimedia computing, ubiquitous computing environments for enhancing qualify of life for individuals with Disabilities, and haptic user interfaces.

Panch@asu.edu
(480) 965-4407
Tempe campus, FULTN 310
cubic.asu.edu

Ted Pavlic

Ted Pavlic
Assistant Professor
Industrial Engineering

Research Interests
Distributed algorithms, autonomous systems, decentralized decision making, complex adaptive systems, self organization, hybrid dynamical systems, sustainability in the built environment, behavioral ecology, behavioral economics, operations research, bio-mimicry and bio-inspiration, parallel computation, robotics,energy systems, intelligent control, optimization, game theory, resource allocation, collective behavior

Tpavlic@asu.edu
(480) 965-2899
Tempe campus, BYENG 314
http://www.tedpavlic.com/

Fengbo Ren

Fengbo Ren

Fengbo Ren
Assistant Professor
Computer Science and Engineering

Research Interests
Hardware acceleration, embedded, reconfigurable, and parallel computing solutions for data analytics and information processing, energy-efficient computing, data-driven compressive sensing, hardware-friendly machine learning

Andrea Richa

Andrea Richa

Andrea Richa
Professor
Computer Science and Engineering

Research Interests
Self-organizing particle systems, programmable matter, bio-inspired algorithms, distributed computing and algorithms, theory of wireless communication, graph, randomized, and approximation algorithms, self-stabilizing overlay networks, combinatorial optimization, distributed resource allocation

Aricha@asu.edu
(480) 965-7555
Tempe campus, BYENG 440
https://sops.engineering.asu.edu/

George Runger

George Runger

George Runger
Professor
Industrial Engineering

Research Interests
Statistical learning, process control, data mining for massive, multivariate data sets

Runger@asu.edu
(480) 965-3193
Mayo Clinic, Samuel C. Johnson Research Bldg 13212 

Arunabha Sen

Arunabha Sen

Arunabha Sen
Professor
Computer Science and Engineering

Research Interests
Resource optimization in optical, wireless and sensor networks, video transmission over mobile ad-hoc networks, network processors, system/network on chip design, combinatorial optimization, algorithm design and analysis

Asen@asu.edu
(480) 965-6153
Tempe campus, BYENG 530
http://netsci.asu.edu/netsci/index.html

Dan Shunk

Dan Shunk

Dan Shunk
Professor
Industrial Engineering

Research Interests
Agile, enterprise and CIM systems, group technology, planning systems, economics of computer-integrated manufacturing (CIM) strategy and strategic role of technology

Dan.Shunk@asu.edu
(480) 965-6330
Tempe campus, BYENG 360

Hanghang Tong

Hanghang Tong

Hanghang Tong
Associate Professor
Computer Science and Engineering

Research Interests
Large scale data mining and machine learning, especially for graph and multimedia data with applications to social networks analysis, healthcare, cyber-security and e-commerce

Hanghang.Tong@asu.edu
(480) 727-1431
Tempe Campus, BYENG 416
http://tonghanghang.org/

Kurt VanLehn

Kurt VanLehn

Kurt VanLehn
Professor, The Diane and Gary Tooker Chair for Effective Education in Science, Technology, Engineering and Math
Computer Science and Engineering

Research Interests
Applications of AI to education (Intelligent Tutoring Systems, teachable agents, tutorial NL dialogue systems), human learning (student modeling; cognitive modeling), cognitive science

Kurt.Vanlehn@asu.edu
(480) 727-6348
Tempe campus, BYENG M1-01
https://www.public.asu.edu/~kvanlehn/

Hao Yan

Hao Yan

Hao Yan
Assistant Professor
Industrial Engineering 

Research Interests
Real time modeling and analysis with large scale high dimensional data, data fusion for modeling of complex systems, and smart adaptive sampling strategy and data reconstruction

HaoYan@asu.edu
Tempe Campus, BYENG 338
http://yanlab.asu.edu/

Stephen Yau

Stephen S. Yau

Stephen Yau
Professor
Computer Science and Engineering

Research Interests
Trust management and security, software engineering, distributed systems, service based systems, ubiquitous/pervasive computing

Yau@asu.edu
(480) 965-2647
Tempe campus, BYENG 488
http://dpse.asu.edu/yau/

Ming Zhao

Ming Zhao

Ming Zhao
Associate Professor
Computer Science and Engineering

Research Interests
Distributed/cloud computing, big data, high-performance computing, autonomic computing, virtualization, storage systems, operating systems

Mingzhao@asu.edu
(480) 727-7850
Tempe campus, BYENG 412
http://visa.lab.asu.edu/